Today is the Day!

Living more fully

Face it: our days are numbered.  No matter what situation we find ourselves in, our physical bodies will give out sometime.  One could be morbid and give up, knowing that.  Or one could choose to live more fully.  The way I see it, we are placed on this earth for a purpose…to do a job.  My perspective happens to be Christian, so the purpose is from God.  But, any moral person – believer or not – can discern a purpose for one’s life.  An introspective person knows what they are good at, and what gifts they can contribute to society.  Now, I am somewhat musical.  I used to play guitar and piano.  I don’t have to know how those interests could help the world, to know that honing those skills could be useful.  If nothing else, it might bring joy to my wife or my extended family.  Even that is something.  Another area that could be developed is my position on the church council.  I don’t know why I was asked to do that, but now I am charged with helping a committee identify a leader and hold regular meetings.  I have been dragging my feet, but now it is time to make some phone calls.  Some items are already being attended to.  I am a regular reader (fiction mostly, as I like to write in that genre).  I have been doing mindfulness meditation — not every day, but nearly so.  Those things will continue.  And I believe that the mindfulness sessions are helping me to live more consciously.  To think about how I am using my time…not in a judgmental or punitive way, but in a way that sees more fulfilling possibilities for my time.

Another person’s abilities and available choices are undoubtedly different and varied.  But I am sure each of us could use wake-up calls.  We don’t have forever.  Which is why we need to make the most of today.  And as they say, ‘Today is the first day of the rest of your life!’  Hokey? Maybe.  But just think about it for a moment before discarding it out of hand.

About Cinnwriter

Scientist who enjoys writing fiction, but can hardly find the time for it.
This entry was posted in Daily Post and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today is the Day!

  1. Hey man, good to see you back again!

Leave a Reply

