Facing Mortality

Life events can have a profound effect.  We all know that.  But even the little things…events that we hear about others can change us in very profound ways.  That is the way it was for me.  How many times have we heard it: “So and so was recently diagnosed with cancer.”  It happens almost weekly.  But this time was different.  This time it was someone I know at work…and not just anyone there.  This someone was a person I talk to every day.  She is undoubtedly my favorite person at work.  Yeah, she has her quirks and doesn’t stay in contact well, but there is a strong connection between us.  And the poor woman who has had trouble having children finally got the family she and her husband have been wanting.  At age 42 and with some risky pregnancies, she delivered her second baby just this year.  And then the diagnosis came.  Metastatic melanoma.  One with not a particularly good prognosis.  I not only feel for her and her family, but I think about my own life now.  I am nearing retirement, and what have I done?  What is still left undone?  So many things I could have accomplished, but thus far, haven’t.  …which is part of the reason I am writing here.  I joined WordPress two years ago, but have hardly touched it after the first 4 months or so.  So much of what I wanted to do in life was write, but I have not made time for it.  This is a start…

About Cinnwriter

Scientist who enjoys writing fiction, but can hardly find the time for it.
This entry was posted in Daily Post, Six Minute Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Facing Mortality

  1. Rebecca says:

    Yea, You’re back! I’m so glad you are going to start writing again. Best of luck and I look forward to reading your posts. God bless.

Leave a Reply

