Daily Prompt: Ah, the Ivory Tower…

Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits.

I have always liked learning.  And sure, going to school is about so many more things than learning.  There is a lot of baggage than comes along with going to school.  Peer pressure, social life, cliches, etc.  But I guess I always focused on the learning.  Which make me a nerd, but so be it.  I always did well in school, which makes it that much easier to like.  I still say that the college years were the best four years of my life. Then after that, I went to grad school.  Then a post-doc position.  As a matter of fact, except for a brief two-year stint with a medical device company, I have never left academia.  Now I am a research scientist at a major medical school, and enjoying it immensely.  When I think of doing something else, which I do from time to time, I really can’t see myself leaving an institution of learning.  The only thing I would change if I had done so earlier in my career, is to pursue teaching.  Now that would put me squarely within the mission of academia.  But as it is, I am fine, contributing in my own way to society.  …while finding time to write and blog when I can, of course.

 

About Cinnwriter

Scientist who enjoys writing fiction, but can hardly find the time for it.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt: Ah, the Ivory Tower…

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Hi! I’ve enjoyed your blog and have decided to nominate you for a Liebster Award.
    Here is your nomination: http://oftenidothink.wordpress.com/2013/08/22/the-liebster-award/
    Congratulations! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Do I really have to go back to school? | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

