Daily Prompt: Of Cheeseburgers and Science

Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star.

This has to be one of the strangest inspirations for a career ever, but it is my story, and I’m sticking to it!  I was about ten years old, or maybe a little younger.  I was in the kitchen with my mother while she was broiling hamburgers for dinner.  Now, she had some funny ideas about what tasted good and what did not.  She did not like the taste of cola, so it was a long time before I ever tasted that.  She also did not think that ketchup and cheese went together…as if the vinegar in the ketchup would curdle the cheese.  When she made hamburgers, it was either with cheese or it was with ketchup.  That day walked over to the oven and said to her, “I wonder what hamburgers would taste like with cheese and ketchup?”  She must have picked up on my curious tone, because this time she did not look at me in disgust and tell me how awful that would be.  No, she took this as a teaching moment and suggested that I become a scientist, because then I could test out things that I was interested in.  What an odd comment, but you know what?  That stuck with me, and to this day I have never regretted going into science and becoming a scientist.  I have learned that cheese and ketchup go well on a hamburger, and many other interesting factoids in life and in the laboratory.  Strange, but true!

 

About Cinnwriter

Scientist who enjoys writing fiction, but can hardly find the time for it.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daily Prompt: Of Cheeseburgers and Science

  1. Pingback: My top five things I want to be when I grow up… | My Top Fives...

  2. sonatano1 says:

    That’s an interesting way to approach hamburger-making. Cooking is a kind of science, isn’t it?

  3. misselletea says:

    I hope you introduced your mother to the joy of ketchup and cheese? I like both with mine, but I do squeeze the ketchup on the side of the burger that doesn’t have the cheese…

  4. I’m with your Mom ~ I don’t like ketchup with my cheese nor vice versa! 🙂 But I’m happy that it led you to your career!

Leave a Reply

