Daily Prompt: The Status Quo

Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection.

Looking at my stats may not be all that informative, since I only started blogging here a couple months ago.  Still, there are some things that stand out.  First, I think that to label any piece as ‘Long’ is the kiss of death.  Even though I put a lot of time into the longer pieces, and they may be the ones of which I would most like critiqued, people tend not to look at those.  (Case in point, my piece Evidence (Long fiction) https://cinnwriterblog.wordpress.com/2013/06/14/daily-prompt-faith-evidence-long-fiction/ got only 1 view, while one on Taglines, which was only a few phrases was one of the most viewed of my blogs).  But I understand this phenomenon.  I do the same thing…shy away from the long ones, unless I just happen to have time when I stumble upon one of those.

Some of the ones that got the most views included:

1.) What might have been…  https://cinnwriterblog.wordpress.com/2013/07/02/daily-prompt-what-might-have-been/

2.) The Door https://cinnwriterblog.wordpress.com/2013/05/26/the-door/

3.) Fragile  https://cinnwriterblog.wordpress.com/2013/06/08/fragile/

These were all close to the heart pieces of human suffering…the first about overcoming alcohol addiction, the second about a friendship that superseded death, and the third about the cancer death of my mother-in-law.  I imagine that people can relate to these things, and were perhaps drawn in by these themes. Perhaps a fellow blogger said it best in his approach to this topic, “but, it is a human quality, I think, to be drawn to stories of everyday happenings that give voice to feelings, emotions and the rest.” (see http://meanderedwanderings.wordpress.com/2013/07/22/pardon-me-mr-letterman-but-i-shall-do-a-top-five-list/)

About Cinnwriter

Scientist who enjoys writing fiction, but can hardly find the time for it.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt: The Status Quo

  1. Pingback: Make The Connection | Edward Hotspur

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – The Stat Connection – 22nd July | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

