Daily Prompt: Stranger Among God’s Architecture

Daily Prompt: Stranger in a Strange Land.

Los Arcos, Cabo San Lucas

Today’s prompt asks what I like about visiting a new place — the food?  the architecture? the people-watching?  There are elements of all of those that I enjoy…especially people-watching.  What do people wear here?  Am I dressed appropriately (yikes!)?  And it is always fun to sample the food of a region or part of the world.

I was somewhat stumped about “architecture.”  As is the case for poetry and art, I have never really developed an appreciation for good architecture, and I would not visit a place because of it’s architectural beauty.  And yet there is an aspect of the word “architecture” that I truly enjoy: God’s architecture, AKA, creation or natural beauty.  There is something so beautiful about the palm trees swaying near a beach in Hawaii, or the arch that separates the Gulf of California from the Pacific Ocean.  There is grandeur in the Grand Canyon, a sight I have yet to see (but is on my bucket list).  There is the majesty of the Rocky Mountains, and the spectacle of Mayan ruins in Belize (OK, that last one is not really a part of “creation.”).  The point is, not only do I enjoy seeing all there is to see of the natural beauty of a locale, indeed it is often the very reason I have chosen to visit a particular place.  So much to see, so little time!

Mayan ruins, Belize

About Cinnwriter

Scientist who enjoys writing fiction, but can hardly find the time for it.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt: Stranger Among God’s Architecture

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Stranger in a Strange Land | flow of my soul

  2. Pingback: Getting to know you | I'm alive

Leave a Reply

