Daily Prompt: Facing Mortality Under the Sea

Daily Prompt: The Natural World.

I must have been about six years old, and my family had gone to a beach on a lake in Wisconsin.  Green Lake, if memory serves me correctly.  At my age, I was only allowed to swim near the shore.  But, out a ways was a slide…and old school metal slide, higher than any I had ever seen.  I kept looking at it, wondering about it.  I would not have gone all the way up the stairs to the top.  Way too scary!

Still, I was drawn to that slide, and I made my way closer and closer to the bottom of the steps.  Even though I was farther out than I should have been, I had always felt safe when my parents were around.  I had nothing to fear.

But then something happened.  I can’t even tell you exactly what, but I found myself under the water with my eyes open.  I saw smooth rocks of many colors blanketing the bottom of the lake.  Mind you, this was the first time I had ever had my eyes open underwater, and I felt sure that this meant I was no longer in this world…that I had passed into another world.  Was I dead?  Perhaps.  I was not sure of anything anymore.  I did know that I could not take a breath here, so if I was not dead yet, I would not be alive much longer.

Luckily for me, I was wrong.  My parents had seen me go under.  My dad swam out to me and pulled me up.

Now, it would have been good for me to have a chance to reflect on what just happened.  As far as my parents knew, I just slipped and went under the surface for a bit.  No big deal.  But to a six-year-old boy with an active imagination, I had faced mortality and won, thanks to my dad, my hero.

About Cinnwriter

Scientist who enjoys writing fiction, but can hardly find the time for it.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt: Facing Mortality Under the Sea

  1. Pingback: Nature and Tech Support (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Sunday Snapshots – Natural World Edition | Tommia's Tablet

Leave a comment